The content in this preview is based on the last saved version of your email - any changes made to your email that have not been saved will not be shown in this preview.

Looking at the Issues Header
August 23, 2013
Did You Know

Jackson and Hoover Ranked Most Challenging 

For three years in a row, the Washington Post has ranked Hoover and Jackson High Schools among the most challenging in the nation.


Join Our Mailing List
Forward to a Friend 
Twenty-two Stark County Schools have now Implemented the Olweus Anti-Bullying Program 


Bus with Bully Free Zone SignBullying affects K-12 education at all levels impacting nearly one in every five students across the nation.


To combat this problem, the Stark County Educational Service Center (SCESC) and the Stark County parochial schools made a proposal in August 2011 to the Sisters of Charity Foundation of Canton to fund the implementation of the Olweus (pronounced Ol-VEY-us) Bullying Prevention Program (OBPP) for up to 60 Stark County schools over three years.


A whole school approach to preventing bullying, the OBPP is supported by Clemson University[1] and the Hazelden Foundation and remains one of the most heavily researched methods of combating bullying available to educators.[2] 


The 22 schools implementing Olweus more than doubled the grant's first year goal of ten schools. The strength of Stark County's collaborative approach between public and parochial schools in scaling up OBPP further attracted the attention of Hazelden who named the county as a national pilot site for the  Olweus Bullying Prevention Program's Electronic Subscription Service. 

OBPP schools are: Canton South High School * Faircrest Memorial Middle School * Fairless Middle School * Malvern Middle School * Northwest Middle School * Northwest High School * Our Lady of Peace Elementary * Regina Coeli St. Joseph Elementary * Sandy Valley Elementary * Sandy Valley High School (6-12) * St. Barbara Elementary * St. Joan of Arc * St. Joseph Elementary * St. Louis Elementary * St. Mary Elementary * St. Michael Elementary * St. Paul Elementary * St. Peter Elementary * SS. Philip and James Elementary * Stinson Elementary * Walker Elementary * Watson Elementary

About the Partnership Long Header
The Stark Education Partnership, Inc., is a 501(c)-3 non-profit education reform support organization in Stark County, Ohio crossing the lines of 17 public school districts. The Partnership collaborates with educators, business, community and civic leaders to create and respond to opportunities that will add substantial and measurable value to education.

Questions or comments? Email or call 330-452-0829. Visit our website at
This email was sent to by |  
Stark Education Partnership | 400 Market Avenue North - Suite B | Canton | OH | 44702